“Queen Vernita Journeys on an Old-Fashioned Paddleboat” by Dr. Dawn Menge

QueenVernitaPaddleboatQUEEN VERNITA JOURNEYS ON AN OLD-FASHIONED PADDLEBOAT

Dr. Dawn Menge
Dr. Dawn Menge (2017)
ISBN 9780998097800
Reviewed by Willow Cramer (Age 8) for Reader Views Kids (8/17)

“Queen Vernita Journeys on an Old-Fashioned Paddleboat” by Dr. Dawn Menge is about Queen Vernita’s adventures to other areas in 365 days on a paddleboat. At each of these places, she learned and learned and learned (usually one fact per day).  Each page contains a month’s worth of adventure.

What I liked most about the book is that Queen Vernita learned lots of facts, including that there are over 100 types of roses and over a 1,000 types of flowers! I also liked going on the adventure with Queen Vernita.

I did not like that Queen Vernita had to say bye to all of her new friends along her journey or when she had to go back to her castle.  I did not like December when she wrote the thank you notes. Those facts were boring because I didn’t understand the languages.

I would recommend this book to older kids (like 12 year olds) because it’s too hard to read because I can’t pronounce all the words, though my daddy would read it to me.

 Dad’s Comments

I think that “Queen Vernita Journeys on an Old-Fashioned Paddleboat” by Dr. Dawn Menge is a book with a lot of potential. I really enjoyed the small chunks of facts in each section; however, I do not recommend you read this in large chunks. If you do, you will forget each fact. I recommend reading a chapter a day and then talking about the facts with your kids.

About Reader Views

Reader Views is an Austin, Texas, based company. We started late December 2005 as a book review service. Shortly after the company's birth we expanded into offering a variety of services for authors such as book publicity services, editing, author interviews, literary book awards, as well as coaching to write book proposals.
This entry was posted in YOUNG READER - AGES 8 TO 12 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

