Amazon Alphabet By Johnette Downing

Amazon Alphabet
Johnette Downing
Pelican Publishing (2011)
ISBN 9781589808799
Reviewed by Cayden Aures (age 6) and Mom for Reader Views (3/11)

Cayden’s comments:

“I really liked this book a lot!  It is a book about things in the Amazon.  I didn’t know where that was but we looked it up on a map.  The Amazon River goes through South America.

For every letter in the alphabet there is something that lives there.  A lot of the animals I didn’t know until now.  I liked the katydids.  It said that they sing a song that sounds like ‘Katy did; Katy didn’t.’  I have never heard them before but we found it on the computer and listened to them on there.

I liked trying to find the letters that were hidden on every page.  That was a lot of fun.  The pictures in this book are awesome!  They are made from cut-up pieces of paper.  I even made one page out of the book by myself, the piranha page.  I cut out colored papers like in the picture and glued it on a piece of paper and it looks like the picture in the book.  I might try to do more of them too.”

Parent’s comments:

We loved this highly educational book about the Amazon!  There was so much great information about the different animals presented and we learned a lot.  The unique collage illustrations were so much fun and my son has had a blast trying to recreate them.  We highly recommend “Amazon Alphabet!”

This entry was posted in EARLY READER - AGES 6 TO 8 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

