The Wonder Book By Amy Krouse Rosenthal

The Wonder Book
Amy Krouse Rosenthal
HarperCollins (2010)
ISBN 9780061429743
Reviewed by Zoltan Freedman (age 8) for Reader Views (04/10)

I read “The Wonder Book” by Amy Krouse Rosenthal. I liked this book because some poems were funny. One of the poems I liked was called “Typical Day.” It is practically a bunch of questions asked by a little girl with answers from her mom and dad. It is a not a regular poem and I thought it was unique. Another good one is called “It Could Be Verse.” It takes regular children’s rhymes and changes the words to make it funny.

There is a page showing a bunch of kids in a tree all wondering things. One boy wonders “If oranges are orange, I wonder why apples aren’t called reds?” I like these kinds of thoughts.

Every poem has a drawing. I think the drawings make the poems better, especially the poem about the boy named J.J. who is always crazy, loud and annoying.
Even though I prefer to read story books, I did enjoy reading this poem book, “The Wonder Book” by Amy Krouse Rosenthal.

This entry was posted in YOUNG READER - AGES 8 TO 12 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

